A look back at the IMT symposium: “Are we entering a new era of cybersecurity?”

, ,
Colloque cybersécurité 2017

For its 8th scientific symposium on 10 November 2017 in Paris, focusing on cybersecurity, IMT brought together some one hundred experts from its schools, several industrial and research partners as well as members of ministerial bodies.

 

Opening and program of symposium:

 

3 major approaches identified

Through 17 presentations, the experts from IMT schools outlined work and reflections relating to each of the 3 major approaches that have been identified.

Cybersecurity and industrial systems

Resilience et systems supervision

Confidentiality and privacy

“Privacy: from the empire of words to the tyranny of figures, what path should we choose?” – Me Isabelle Landreau

“Who will be the new suppliers of personal data?” – Philippe Jaillon (Mines Saint-Étienne)

“Genetic data and Privacy” – Mario Sudholt (IMT Atlantique)

“GDPR : for an auditable user content” – Maryline Laurent (Télécom SudParis)

“Flow control on Android” – Nora Cuppens (IMT Atlantique)

 

 

“Can defenders get ahead of attackers?”  

As well as positive progress, digital transformation also brings with it various security threats.Table ronde « Les défenseurs peuvent-ils être en avance sur les attaquants ? » A round-table discussion of the theme of “Can defenders get ahead of attackers?” highlighted the challenges we currently face in overcoming these threats.

Putting new procedures in place to slow down attackers, innovative investigation tools, monitoring, evaluating the success of current measures, recruiting experts, business logic, etc. These are all subjects that were addressed by the six experts that were present: Romain Françoise (CTO Sentryo), Olivier Bettan (Director of R&D in Cyber Security at Thales), Florent Kirchner (Director of the Security and Safety Laboratory for the software CEA List), Nicolas Loriot (Sr. Cyber Defense Expert at Airbus Defense and Space), Frédéric Cuppens (teacher-researcher in the Network Systems, Cybersecurity and Digital Law Department at l’IMT Atlantique) and Hervé Debar (Director of the Networks, Services and Telecommunications Department at Télécom SudParis).

 

 

 

See previous symposium :

Retour sur le colloque IMT : « Entrons-nous dans une nouvelle ère de la cybersécurité ? »

, ,
Colloque cybersécurité 2017

À l’occasion de son 8e colloque scientifique, traitant de la cybersécurité, l’IMT a réuni le 10 novembre 2017 à Paris, une centaine d’experts issus de ses écoles, de nombreux partenaires industriels et de recherche ainsi que des membres d’organismes ministériels. Un événement organisé par la Direction de l’innovation de l’IMT.

 

Ouverture et programme du colloque :

 

3 axes majeurs identifiés

Au travers de 17 présentations, les experts des écoles de l’IMT ont dressé un panorama des travaux et des réflexions sur chacun des 3 axes majeurs identifiés.

Confidentialité et vie privée

« Vie privée : de l’empire des mots à la tyrannie des chiffres, quel chemin choisir ? » – Me Isabelle Landreau

« Qui seront les nouveaux fournisseurs de données personnelles ? » – Philippe Jaillon (Mines Saint-Étienne)

« Données génétiques et vie privée » – Mario Sudholt (IMT Atlantique)

« GDPR : for an auditable user content » – Maryline Laurent (Télécom SudParis)

« Contrôle des flux sur Android » – Nora Cuppens (IMT Atlantique)

 

 

« Les défenseurs peuvent-ils être en avance sur les attaquants ? »

Avec ses avancées positives, la transformation digitale amèneTable ronde « Les défenseurs peuvent-ils être en avance sur les attaquants ? » aussi différentes menaces de sécurité. Une table ronde sur le thème « Les défenseurs peuvent-ils être en avance sur les attaquants ? », animée par Aline Richard (éditrice Sciences et technologie à The Conversation), a mis en évidence les difficultés actuelles à surmonter ces menaces.

Mise en place de nouveaux procédés pour ralentir l’attaquant, outils d’investigation novateurs, monitoring, évaluation du succès des dispositifs, recrutement d’experts, logique métier… Ces sujets ont été abordés par les six experts présents : Romain Françoise (CTO Sentryo), Olivier Bettan (responsable R&D Cyber Security à Thalès), Florent Kirchner (chef du laboratoire pour la sécurité et sûreté du logiciel CEA List), Nicolas Loriot (Sr.Expert Cyber Defense à Airbus Defense and Space), Frédéric Cuppens (enseignant-chercheur au Département Systèmes Réseaux, Cybersécurité et Droit du numérique à l’IMT Atlantique) et Hervé Debar (directeur du département RST à Télécom SudParis).

 

 

 

 

Retrouvez les colloques précédents :