The fundamentals of language: why do we talk? – Jean-Louis Dessalles, Télécom ParisTech

Human language is a mystery. In a society where information is so valuable, why do we talk to others without expecting anything in return? Even more intriguing than this are the processes determining communication, whether that be a profound debate or a spontaneous conversation with an acquaintance. These are the questions driving Jean-Louis Dessalles’ current project, a researcher in computing at Télécom ParisTech. His work has led him to reconsider the perspective on information adopted by Claude Shannon, a pioneer in the field. He has devised original theories and conversational models which explain trivial discussions just as well as heated debates.

Why do we talk? And what do we talk about? Fueled with the optimism of a young researcher, Jean-Louis Dessalles hoped to find the answer to these two questions in just a few months after finishing his thesis in 1993. Nearly 24 years have now passed, and the subject of his research has not changed. From his office in the Computing and Networks department at Télécom ParisTech, he continues to have an interest in Language. His work breaks away from the classic approach adopted by researchers in information science and communication. “The discipline mainly focuses on ways we can convey messages, but not about what is conveyed or why”, he explains, contradicting the approach to communication described by Claude Shannon in 1948.

 

The reasons for communication, along with the underlying motives for these information exchanges, are however very legitimate and complex questions. As the researcher explains in the film “Le Grand Roman de l’Homme”, which came out in 2014, communication is contradictory of various behavioral theories. Game theory for example, sometimes used in economy to describe and analyze behavioral mechanisms, struggles to justify the role of communication between humans. According to this theory, and by attaching value to all information, expected communication situations would consist in each participant providing the minimum information possible, whilst trying to glean the maximum from the other person. However this logic is not followed by humans in everyday discussions. “We need to consider the role of communication in a social context” deduces Jean-Louis Dessalles.

By dissecting the scientific elements in communication situations (i.e. interviews, attitudes in online forums, discussions, etc.) he has tried to find an explanation for people offering up useful information. The hypothesis he is putting forward today is compatible with all observable communication types; for him, offering up quality information is not motivated by economic gain, as game theory assumes, but rather by a gain in social reputation. “In technical online forums for example, experts don’t respond out of altruism, or for monetary gain. They are competing to give the most complete response in order to assert their status as an expert. In this way they gain social significance”, explains the researcher. Talking and showing our ability to stay informed is therefore synonymous with positioning ourselves in a social hierarchy.

When the unexpected liberates language

With the question of “why do we talk” cleared up, we still need to find out what it is we are talking about. Jean-Louis Dessalles isn’t interested in the subject of discussions per-say, but rather the general mechanisms dominating the act of communication. After having analyzed in detail tens of hours of recordings, he has come to the conclusion that a large part of spontaneous exchange is structured around the unexpected. The triggers of spontaneous conversation are often events that humans would consider unlikely or abnormal, in other words, when the normality of a situation is broken. For example, seeing a person over 2m tall, a series of cars of the same color all parked in a row or a lotto draw where all the numbers follow on from one another; these are all instances which are likely to provoke surprise in an individual, and encourage them to engage in spontaneous conversation with an interlocutor.

In order to explain this engagement based on the unexpected, Jean-Louis Dessalles has developed Simplicity Theory. According to him, the unexpected corresponds above all else to things which are simple to describe. He says “simple” because it is always easy to describe an out-of-the-ordinary situation, simply by placing the focus on the unexpected thing. For example, describing a person that is 2m tall is easy because this criterion alone is enough to establish a narration point. In contrast, describing a person of normal height and weight with standard clothes and a face with no distinctive features in particular would require a more complex description to achieve a successful definition.

Although simplicity may be a driver for spontaneous conversation, another significant discussion category also exists: that of argumentative conversation. In this case, the unexpected no longer applies. This kind of exchange follows a model defined by Jean-Louis Dessalles, called CAN (Conflict, Abduction, and Negation). “To start an argument, there has to be a conflict, opposing points of view. Abduction is the following stage, which consists in going back to the cause of the conflict in order to shift this and deploy arguments. Finally, negation allows the participants to progress to counterfactuals in order to reflect on solutions which would allow them to resolve the conflict.” Beyond that simple description, the CAN model could allow the development of artificial intelligence to progress (see text box).

In the hours of conversation recorded by the researcher, the distribution of spontaneous discussions induced by unexpected elements and arguments was respectively 25% and 75%. He remarks however that the line separating the two is not necessarily strict, since spontaneous narration can lead to a more profound debate, which would dramatically change the basis of the CAN model. These results offer a response to the question “what do we talk about?” and solidify years of research. For Jean-Louis Dessalles, it’s proof that “it pays to be naïve”. His recklessness at the beginning eventually led him to theorize various models throughout his career, on which humans base their communication, and will probably continue to do so for a long time to come.

When artificial intelligence looks at language theories

“Machines should be able to have a reasonable conversation in order to appear intelligent”, assures Jean-Louis Dessalle. For the researcher, the test invented by Alan Turing, consisting in claiming that a machine is intelligent if a human can’t tell the difference between it and another human when having a conversation, is completely legitimate. Because of this, his work has found a place in the development of artificial intelligence that is able to pass this test. It is therefore absolutely essential to understand human communication mechanisms in order to transfer these to machines. A machine integrating the CAN model would be more able to have a debate with a human. In the case of a GPS, it would allow the device to plan routes whilst incorporating factors other than simply time or distance. Discussing with a GPS what we expect from a journey – such as beautiful scenery for example – in a logical manner, would significantly extend the quality of the human machine interface.

Jean-Louis Dessalles, human language specialist

Jean-Louis Dessalles a travaillé sur le langage.

A Polytechnique and Télécom ParisTech graduate, Jean-Louis Dessalles became a researcher in computing after obtaining his PhD in 1993. It is therefore difficult to see the link to questions regarding human language and its origins, something normally reserved for linguists or ethnologists. “I chose to focus on a subject relevant to the resources I had available to me, which were computer sciences”, he argues. He then carried out research which contradicts the probabilistic approach of Claude Shannon, which is how he presented it to a conference at the Insitut Henri Poincaré in October 2016 for the centenary of the father of information theory. His reflections on information have been the subject of a book, “Le fil de la vie”, published by Odile Jacob in 2016. He is also the author of several books about the question of language emergence.

Dans les entrailles du langage : pourquoi parlons-nous ? – Jean-Louis Dessalles, Télécom ParisTech

Le langage humain est un mystère. Dans une société où l’information a de la valeur, qu’est-ce qui justifie que nous parlions à autrui sans contrepartie ? Plus intrigant encore : quels processus régissent nos communications, qu’il s’agisse d’un débat profond ou d’une conversation spontanée avec une connaissance ? Ce sont ces problématiques qui animent les recherches de Jean-Louis Dessalles, chercheur en informatique à Télécom ParisTech. Ses travaux l’ont amené à reconsidérer la vision de l’information adoptée par Claude Shannon, pionnier de la discipline. Il en résulte des théories originales et des modèles de la conversation qui décrivent aussi bien les discussions futiles que les débats les plus argumentés.

Pourquoi parlons-nous ? Et de quoi parlons-nous ? Nourri de l’optimisme du jeune chercheur, Jean-Louis Dessalles pensait pouvoir répondre à ces deux questions en quelques mois après sa thèse obtenue en 1993. Près de 25 années ont passé aujourd’hui, et le sujet de ses recherches n’a pas changé. Depuis son bureau du département Informatique et Réseaux de Télécom ParisTech, il continue de s’intéresser au langage. Ses travaux rompent avec l’approche classique adoptée par les chercheurs en sciences de l’information et de la communication. « La discipline s’intéresse surtout aux façons d’envoyer un message, mais pas à ce qui est envoyé, ni à pourquoi un message est envoyé » souligne-t-il, s’opposant ainsi à l’approche de la communication telle que décrite par Claude Shannon en 1948.

L’intérêt des communications, ainsi que les motivations sous-jacentes à ces échanges d’information, sont pourtant des problématiques légitimes et complexes. Comme le chercheur l’expliquait dans le film Le grand roman de l’Homme, sorti en 2014, communiquer est un acte contradictoire de certaines théories comportementales. La théorie des jeux par exemple, parfois utilisée en économie pour décrire et analyser des mécanismes comportementaux, peine à justifier l’apport des communications entre humains. Selon cette théorie, et en attachant une valeur à toute information, les situations de communication attendues consisteraient à ce que chaque acteur donne un minimum d’information, et essaie d’en capter un maximum de la part d’autrui. Or ce n’est pas cette logique qui anime les humains dans les discussions de tous les jours. « Il faut donc plonger le jeu de la communication dans un jeu social » déduit Jean-Louis Dessalles.

En décortiquant les corpus scientifiques de situations de communication (entretiens, attitudes sur des forums en ligne, discussions…) il a alors tenté de trouver une explication au don d’information utile. L’hypothèse qu’il émet aujourd’hui est compatible avec l’ensemble des communications observées : pour lui, le don d’une information de qualité n’est pas motivé par un gain économique — comme le supposerait la théorie des jeux — mais par un gain de représentation sociale. « Sur les forums techniques en ligne par exemple, les experts ne répondent pas par altruisme, ou par intérêt monétaire. Ils rivalisent pour donner la réponse la plus complète afin d’asseoir leur statut d’expert. Ils gagnent ainsi une existence sociale » pointe le chercheur. Parler, démontrer notre capacité à rester informé, c’est alors se positionner dans la hiérarchie d’une société.

Quand l’inattendu délie les langues

Une fois la question du « pourquoi parlons-nous ? » élucidée, il reste encore à savoir de quoi nous parlons. Jean-Louis Dessalles ne s’est pas intéressé ici aux sujets des discussions, mais plutôt aux mécanismes généraux qui dominent l’action de communication. Après avoir analysé en détail des dizaines d’heures d’enregistrement, il est parvenu au résultat qu’une grande part des échanges spontanés est structurée autour de ce qui est inattendu. Les déclencheurs de conversations spontanées sont en effet des évènements que l’humain considère comme improbables, anormaux – au sens où la normalité d’une situation est brisée. Une personne mesurant plus de 2 m, une série de voitures de la même couleur garées à côté, un tirage de loto dont tous les chiffres se suivent sont autant d’exemples susceptibles de provoquer un étonnement chez un individu, et d’engager spontanément une conversation avec un interlocuteur.

Pour expliquer cet engagement basé sur l’inattendu, Jean-Louis Dessalles a développé une théorie de la simplicité. Ainsi selon lui, ce qui est inattendu correspond avant tout à quelque chose de simple à décrire. Simple, car il est toujours facile de décrire une situation qui sort de l’ordinaire, en la mettant simplement en regard avec ce qui est attendu. Ainsi, décrire une personne mesurant plus de 2 m est aisé, puisque ce critère en soi suffit à établir un point de narration. En revanche, décrire un individu de taille normale, avec un poids normal, des habits courants et un visage sans signe distinctif particulier demande une description beaucoup plus complexe pour parvenir à le définir.

Si la simplicité est donc un moteur des conversations spontanées, il existe également une seconde grande catégorie de discussion : les conversations argumentées. Ici, plus question d’inattendu. Ce genre d’échange suit cette fois-ci un modèle défini par Jean-Louis Dessalles et appelé CAN, pour « conflit, abduction, négation ». « Pour démarrer une argumentation, il faut qu’il y ait un conflit, une opposition de point de vue. L’abduction est l’étape suivante, elle consiste à remonter à la cause du conflit pour l’y déplacer et déployer ses arguments. Et enfin la négation permet de passer au contrefactuel afin de réfléchir aux solutions permettant de résoudre le conflit. » Au-delà de la simple description, le modèle CAN pourrait permettre le développement des intelligences artificielles (voir encadré).

Dans les heures de conversations enregistrées par le chercheur, la répartition entre discussions spontanées induites par l’inattendu et argumentations est respectivement de 25 % et 75 %. Mais il note que la frontière n’est pas forcément stricte, car une narration spontanée peut mener à un débat plus profond, qui basculera dans le modèle CAN. Ces résultats se posent ainsi en réponse à la question « de quoi parlons-nous ? » et viennent concrétiser des années de recherche. Pour Jean-Louis Dessalles, c’est une preuve que « la naïveté paie ». L’insouciance de ses débuts l’aura finalement conduit à théoriser au fil de sa carrière des modèles sur lesquels l’humain base ses communications, et sur lesquels il continuera probablement de s’appuyer encore longtemps.

Quand l’intelligence artificielle s’intéresse aux théories du langage

« La machine doit pouvoir avoir une conversation sensée pour paraître intelligente » assure Jean-Louis Dessalles. Pour le chercheur, le test inventé par Alan Turing, consistant à décréter une machine intelligente si un humain ne peut la discerner d’un autre humain en conversant avec elle, a toute sa légitimité. Ses travaux trouvent donc leur place dans le développement d’intelligences artificielles capables de réussir ce test. Il est en effet primordial de comprendre les mécanismes des communications humaines pour les transmettre aux machines. Une machine intégrant le modèle CAN serait ainsi plus à même de débattre avec un humain. Dans le cas d’un GPS, cela permettrait de pouvoir définir des itinéraires sur des paramètres autres que temporels ou kilométriques. Argumenter avec un GPS sur ce que nous attendons d’un trajet — des beaux paysages par exemple — de manière logique, étendrait considérablement la qualité de l’interface humain machine.

Jean-Louis Dessalles, informaticien du langage humain

Jean-Louis Dessalles a travaillé sur le langage.

Diplômé de Polytechnique et de Télécom ParisTech, Jean-Louis Dessalles devient de fait chercheur en informatique après sa thèse obtenue en 1993. Difficile alors de voir le lien avec les questions du langage humain et de ses origines, d’ordinaire réservées aux linguistes ou ethnologues. « J’ai choisi de m’intéresser au sujet avec les armes que j’avais à disposition, et qui sont les sciences de l’information » se défend-il. Il en résulte des recherches qui se placent en contrepoint de l’approche probabiliste de Claude Shannon, comme il l’a présenté au colloque de l’Institut Henri Poincaré en octobre 2016 à l’occasion du centenaire du père de la théorie de l’information. Ses réflexions sur les informations font notamment l’objet du livre Le fil de la vie, publié aux éditions Odile Jacob en 2016. Il est également l’auteur de plusieurs livres sur la question de l’émergence du langage.